___Race Snippets


9th World Championship Road Race 1935


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian









Jean Aerts Solo!

The 1935 World Championship Road Race was held in Floreffe, Belgium. The race was contested on a 13.5 km circuit over 16 laps with the tough climb of the Cote de Buzet each lap.

Strong Belgian Jean Aerts and Spaniard Luciano Montero broke away early. Once the breakaway was clear the powerful Aerts attacked Montero and soloed to the finish to take the victory. Belgian teammate Gustave Danneels repeated his 3rd place finish from 1934.

SPECIAL NOTE: 1935 marked the first participation of Australian riders. Ernest Millinen (DNF), Hubert Opperman (8th), and Walter Stuart (DNF) competed in the WCRR.

WCRR August 18, 1935
216 Km [ Floreffe, Belgium ]

1. Jean AERTS (Bel) 6h05'19

2. Luciano Montero (Spa) +2'57"

3. Gustave Danneels (Bel) +9'08

Starters: 31
Finishers: 13
Average Speed: 35.476 km/h

WCRR 1934

WCRR 1936

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2012 2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us