___Race Snippets


78th Paris-Roubaix 1980 (France)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian



Moser’s Incredible Pace

SPECIAL NOTE: Race director Albert Bouvet was forced to make changes to the race course. Several long-time cobbled sections were abandoned for the 1980 Pars-Roubaix. The changes gave increased importance to the five-star cobbled section in the Arenberg Forest

This year’s edition of the “Hell of the North” presented another classic 'Moser-De Vlaeminck' battle. A 164 starter left Compiegne under beautifully sunny weather. The race came to life near Valenciennes when German Dieter Thurau launched a decisive attack. Quickly an elite group including Francesco Moser and Roger De Vlaeminck formed and joined Thurau. 

The breakaway worked well and opened a large lead when disaster struck De Vlaeminck. An untimely puncture caused concern for 'the Gypsy' with 24 kms to go. During his chase to rejoin the leaders De Vlaeminck took great risks and crashed heavily. Injured De Vlaemink was forced to abandon Paris-Roubaix for the first time in his career. 

Moser set an incredible pace approaching Roubaix. One by one his breakaway companions crumbled under the pressure. Moser entered the velodrome alone and claimed his third straight Paris-Roubaix victory.

P-R April 13, 1980
264 Km, Compiegne to Roubaix (Velodrome)

1. Francesco MOSER (Ita) 6h07'28"

2. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Fra) +1'48"
3. Dietrich Thurau (Ger) +3'30"
Starters: 164
Finishers: 31
Average Speed: 43.105 km/h

P-R 1979

P-R 1981

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2009-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us