___Race Snippets


29th Paris-Roubaix 1928 (France)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian



“Dede” Ends Belgian Domination

The 1928 edition of Paris-Roubaix attracted a very talented start list. Defending champion Georges Ronsse (Bel) squared off with the most talented bunch of French riders in years.

The first serious selection of elite riders formed in the cobbled section at Henin- Lietard.

French favorite Andre “Dede” Leducq rode prominently in the breakaway until an untimely puncture 25 km from Roubaix. He quickly changed the tire and turned the wheel to get the 17 tooth cog. Into Roubaix Leducq reconnected with the leaders as Ronsse led out the sprint. Leducq using a 47x17 gear powered past Ronsse for the victory. Jubilant French fans hoisted the popular Leducq on their shoulders in celebration.

Special Note: P-R Champion in 1919, grand French rider Henri Pelissier raced in his final Paris-Roubaix.

P-R April 8, 1928
260 Km, Suresnes (west of Paris) to Roubaix (Ave des Villas)

1. Andre LEDUCQ (Fra) 7h44'20”

2. Georges Ronsse (Bel)
3. Charles Meunier (Bel)
Starters: 89
Finishers: 52
Average Speed: 33.597 km/h

P-R 1927

P-R 1929

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2009-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us