___Race Snippets


59th Liege-Bastogne-Liege 1973 (Belgium)

By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian

Merckx by a Millimeter

SPECIAL NOTE: the finish line for the 1973 Liege-Bastogne-Liege was moved back to the Stade Velodrome de Rocourt in Liège. The 1972 finish was move to Verviers because of fans' protests.

Eddy Merckx won his third Liege-Bastogne-Liege in a row in 1973, but it was not easy. A group of 16 riders entered the Stade Velodrome de Rocourt in Liège to contest the sprint. Molteni’s Willy In't Ven and Herman Van Springel provided a perfect lead-out for Merckx with Belgian sprinter Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Maes Pils) on his wheel.

Merckx (R) beat Frans Verbeeck by a millimeter

It took the 'finish-line' photo to determine the winner. Merckx by a millimeter!!!

The PHOTO says

L-B-L April 21, 1973
236 Km

1 . Eddy MERCKX (Bel) 6h13'55"

2. Frans Verbeeck (Bel)

3. Walter Godefroot (Bel)

Starters: 150
Finishers: 65
Average Speed: 37.870 km/h

L-B-L 1972

L-B-L 1974

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2004-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us