___Race Snippets


31st Liege-Bastogne-Liege 1945 (Belgium)

By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian

Resumption after the WW2 Bombardments in 1944

Liege-Bastogne-Liege returned on August 5, 1945 just months after German surrender. Forty-three brave riders lined up at the start in Liege with only 19 riders finish the race. The after effects of the famous 'Battle of the Bulge' were very present. Bastogne was recovering from Allied bombing, the famous Cote de Stockau was devastated, but the brave riders battled through all.

Belgian Jan Engels launched the decisive attack in the closing kms to gain a 47 second victory over a small hard charging group led by Edward Van Dijck and Joseph Moerenhout. The 1945 L-B-L marked a return of one of the greatest Classics. The race was heading rapidly towards becoming one cycling's '5 Monuments'.

L-B-L August 5, 1945
208 Km

1. Jan ENGELS (Bel) 6h21'11"

2. Edward Van Dijck (Bel) +47"

3. Joseph Moerenhout (Bel)

Starters: 43
Finishers: 19
Average Speed: 32.322 km/h

L-B-L 1943

L-B-L 1946

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2004-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us