___Race Snippets


5th Liege-Bastogne-Liege 1909 (Belgium)

By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian

Fastre Wins L-B-L after Charlier's Relegation

Liege-Bastogne-Liege in 1909 continued as an amateur event. Two riders came into the finish in Liege with Eugene Charlier winning the sprint, but after an illegal bike change by Charlier, he was relegated to second place. Victor Fastre was awarded the victory.

SPECIAL NOTE: The race organizers continued there struggles to get L-B-L established on the elite level of racing. After the 1910 edition was cancelled the race would reurn in 1911.

L-B-L May 16, 1909
235 Km

1. Victor FASTRE (Bel) 8h21'00”

2. Eugene Charlier (Bel)
3. Paul Deman (Bel)
Starters: 82
Finishers: 41
Average Speed: 28.140 km/h

L-B-L 1908

L-B-L 1911

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2004-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us