By Graham Jones
CyclingRevealed Historian




Also See:

20th Century Timeline

Race Snippets

Top 20 Classics




Your Campionissimo

Reader Nominated riders for Campionissimo are:

The New Cannibal Sean Kelly

The Flying Badger Bernard Hinault

The Shot Heard Around the World Greg LeMond

An Unlikely Pair Lance Armstrong and Marco Pantani

A Rich Legacy Erik Zabel and Johann Museeuw

CyclingRevealed’s Nominated riders well worth your consideration:

Louison Bobet
Jacques Anquetil
Francesco Moser
Raymond Poulidor (the Eternal Second)
Jan Janssen
Freddy Maertens
Joop Zoetemelk
Paolo Bettini
Jan Raas
Tony Rominger
Felice Gimondi (Some say he was the last Italian Campionissimo)
Tom Simpson
Roger De Vlaemnick 1970 to 1979 (1 win of a traditional classic for 10 consecutive years)
Moreno Argentin
Rik Van Looy (won all the traditional Classics)


Return to ToC >>>


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2005-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us