___Race Snippets


65th Paris-Roubaix 1967 (France)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian



A Dutchman’s Magnificent Sprint

An elite group of 10 riders dominated the 1967 Paris-Roubaix. The group included: Eddy Merckx, Rik Van Looy, Jan Janssen, World Champion Rudi Altig, Edouard Sels, Raymond Poulidor, Gianni Motta, Arthur de Cabooter, Willy Planckaert, and George Vandenberghe.

The breakaway of the day rode away from the peloton through the tough cobbled climb of Pas Rolland at Mon-en-Pevele. Big German Rudi Altig launched the decisive attack and formed the elite breakaway. The elite group opened a 3 minute gap over the next 35 km and entered the velodrome for a memorable sprint.

Jan Janssen took the lead with one lap of the velodrome to go. His devastating pace could not be matched as the Dutchman held off the late charge of Rik Van Looy and Rudi Altig to gain the victory.

P-R April 9, 1967
263 Km, Chantilly to Roubaix (Velodrome)

1. Jan JANSSEN (Ned) 7h08’31”

2. Rik Van Looy (Bel)
3. Rudi Altig (Ger)
Starters: 132
Finishers: 72
Average Speed: 35.821 km/h

P-R 1966

P-R 1968

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2009-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us