___Race Snippets


56th Paris-Roubaix 1958 (France)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian



Sprint Fest

Defending Tour de France champion Jacques Anquetil came to Paris-Roubaix with the intention of winning his first classic. Aggressively Anquetil joined a twenty rider breakaway 200 km from Roubaix .

The lead group rode steadily away until a three riders, danger man was Noel Fore, escaped on the cobbled hill at Moncheaux. Only 21km to Roubaix and with his chance of victory fading Anquetil attacked.

A series of punctures and crashes slowed the breakaway as the re-grouping came with 3 km to go. Immediately Irish Shay Elliott and Belgian Roger Verplaetse attacked and entered the velodrome with a small gap on the sprinters.

The bell sounded for the final lap of the track. The sprinters set-up as powerful Leon Van Daele led out the sprint with Miguel Poblet and Rik Van Looy on his wheel.

Off the final turn Poblet started to close, but Van Daele held the gap for the prestigious victory. Leon Van Daele gained the biggest victory of his career.

P-R April 13, 1958
269 Km, St. Denis (north of Paris) to Roubaix (Velodrome)

1. Leon VAN DAELE (Bel) 8h04'41

2. Miguel Poblet (Spa)
3. Rik Van Looy (Bel)
Starters: 150
Finishers: 76
Average Speed: 33.300 km/h


P-R 1957

P-R 1959

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2009-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us