___Race Snippets


89th Milan-San Remo 1998 (Italy)

By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian

An Impressive Zabel Victory

German Erik Zabel sprinted to victory in Milan-San Remo. With the win Zabel became the first rider to win La Primavera in successive year since Laurent Fignon in 1988-89. 

The 89th Milan-San Remo was raced on a great Italian spring day. The early action started at the 9 km mark when Italian Marco Antonio Di Renzo and the Spaniard Francisco Garcia escaped the peloton. The breakaway rode to a lead of 25 minutes before tiring and being caught at the 140 km mark.

*Race profile courtesy of Internet site: www.econ-outlook.com.au/tom/cycling/palmares.html

Zabel's Telekom team took control of the race on the Cipressa with 25 kms to go. France's Richard Virenque had attacked with Rossano Brasi between the Cipressa and the Poggio. When Brasi stopped helping in the breakaway the duo was easily caught. On the Poggio Alberto Elli made an attempt to escape without success when the vigilant Telecom train chased him into the flat streets of San Remo.

Onto the famous finishing straight Via Roma Erik Zabel jumped from his lead out train at 300 meters and easily powered to the victory.

M-SR March 21, 1998
294 Km

1. Erik ZABEL (Ger) 7h10'54"

2. Emmanuel Magnien (Fra)

3. Frederic Moncassin (Fra)

Starters: 198

Average Speed: 41.002 km/h

M-SR 1997

M-SR 1999

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2007-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us-