26th Milan-San Remo 1933 (Italy)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian




TheHuman LocomotiveCharges to Victory

Italian Learco Guerra powered a 9 rider breakaway over the Passo Turchino. Through cold temperatures and cloudy skies the group, including World Champion Alfredo Binda, escaped the peloton lead by forty year old Costante Girardengo.

Over the Capo Berta the lead group was reduced to 7 with Guerra and Binda driving the pace. Misfortune hit the breakaway 25 km from the finish when Binda and Rafaele Di Paco crashed heavily and lost contact with lead group.

At the finish in San Remo Guerra left no doubt sprinting past Alfredo Bovet and Pietro Rimoldi for the prestigious victory. Costante Girardengo, 6-time winner of Milan-San Remo, sprinted in for 11th place.

SPECIAL NOTE: Learco Guerra's winning average speed 36.331 km/h set a new M-SR record. The effort broke the previous record of 2nd placed Alfredo Bovet's 1932 average of 34.432 km/h.

M-SR March 26, 1933
282 Km

1. Learco GUERRA (Ita) 7h50'41"

2. Alfredo Bovet (Ita)

3. Pietro Rimoldi (Ita)

Starters: 156
Finishers: 90
Average Speed: 36.331 km/h

M-SR 1932

M-SR 1934

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2012-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact