___Race Snippets


45th Liege-Bastogne-Liege 1959 (Belgium)

By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian

Mr. Liege-Bastogne-Liege!!!

Alfred 'Fred' de Bruyne launched a powerful sprint from a three rider breakaway to win his third Liege-Bastogne-Liege in four years.

SPECIAL NOTE: The 1959 victory gave de Bruyne the nickname "Mr. Liege-Bastogne-Liege"!

L-B-L April 26, 1959
240 Km

1. Alfred de BRUYNE (Bel) 6h45'30"

2. Frans Schoubben (Bel)

3. Frans de Mulder (Bel) +3"

Starters: 189
Finishers: 55
Average Speed: 35.510 km/h

L-B-L 1958

L-B-L 1960

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2004-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us