___Race Snippets


75th Ronde van Vlaanderen 1991 / Tour of Flanders (Belgium)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian





Van Hooydonck’s Bosberg Blast

The peloton maintained an aggressive pace into a strong headwind as a leading group of 25 riders formed heading into the first serious climb. Belgian Michel Vermont tried unsuccessfully to split the group on the second climb of the day, the Oude Kwaremont. The unpredictable Belgian weather turned bad and made the race even harder.

Attacks continued in the rain and on the Berendries climb near Brakel with 33 km to go, Franco Ballerini and Marc Sergeant increased the already hard tempo. Only Rolf Sörenson, Rolf Gölz and Johan Museeuw were able to join them in the breakaway. 

The move drew an immediate response and a regrouping of the now smaller lead group happened near the Muur de Grammont. 1989 champion Edwig Van Hooydonck made a powerful move over the Muur and split the lead group.  Ariostea teammates Museeuw and Gölz caught Van Hooydonck on the descent.  

Sensing an opportunity Edwig “Boss of the Bosberg” Van Hooydonck launched a brilliant attack on the final climb, the Bosberg. As the kilometers clicked down Museeuw, Gölz, and Rolf Sorensen chased at full speed but were losing ground. 

Edwig Van Hooydonck rode impressively into Meerbeke/Ninove to gain a 45 second win over second placed Johan Museeuw.

Flanders April 7, 1991
261 Km, St. Niklaas to Meerbeke/Ninove

1. Edwig VAN HOOYDONCK (Bel) 7h02'00"

2. Johan Museeuw (Bel) +45"

3. Rolf Sorensen (Den)

Starters: 194
Finishers: 112

Average Speed: 39.026 km/h

RVV 1990

RVV 1992

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2010-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us