___Race Snippets


70th Ronde van Vlaanderen 1986 / Tour of Flanders (Belgium)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian





Van Der Poel Outsprints Kelly

195 riders participated in the 70th edition of the Tour of Flanders. 58 kilometers into the race Marc Van Geel escaped and built a lead of 10 minutes before beginning to tire. He was caught by the peloton on the climb the Oude Kwaremont.  

An attack by Eric Vanderaerden on the next climb, the Paterberg (a new cobbled climb just before the Koppenberg), shattered the peloton. A group of 7 formed on the famous Koppenberg climb with Vanderaerden, Marc Sergeant, Eddy Planckaert, Steve Bauer, Sean Kelly, Greg LeMond and Johan Van de Velde.

Eddy Planckaert punctured with no team car in sight. When the neutral service car arrived the wheel change was slow. Planckaert lost 45 seconds. A determined Belgian chased and caught the leaders just before Geraardsbergen and the climb of the Muur (the wall).

Planckaert attacked and took the lead 30 km from the finish. Canadian Steve Bauer bridged to Planckaert on the streets of Geraardsbergen. On the brutal climb of the Muur de Grammont Bauer dropped Planckaert and opened a 50 second lead. Over the final climb, the Bosberg, Bauer was 40 second and the chasers were closing.

An inspired effort by young Dutchman Adri Van der Poel, Sean Kelly and Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande caught Bauer on the outskirts of Meerbeke with 7 km to go. 

Onto the finish in Ninove Irish Sean Kelly went to the front and started the sprint. An attentive Van der Poel was the first to respond. He quickly got Kelly's wheel as the Irishman jumped to full speed. In the final 10 meters Van der Poel came around a surprised Kelly and won the sprint. Adri Van der Poel took his first Ronde van Vlaanderen victory.

Flanders April 6, 1986
277 Km, St. Niklaas to Meerbeke/Ninove

1. Adri VAN DER POEL (Ned) 7h10'50"

2. Sean Kelly (Ire)

3. Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Bel)

Starters: 195
Finishers: 40

Average Speed: 38.297 km/h

RVV 1985

RVV 1987

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2010-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us