By Graham Jones
and Barry Boyce

CyclingRevealed Historians









CyclingRevealed's First Impressions '10

Stage 10 - (Weds) July 14th, Chambéry to Gap, 179 km Medium Mountain Stage

The winning breakaway, Vasili Kiryienka (Caisse d'Epargne) and Sergio Paulinho (RadioShack) (Image © Reuters)

Dries Devenyns (Quick Step), Mario Aerts (Omega Pharma - Lotto) and Pierre Rolland (Bbox) try to catch the breakaway (Image © Reuters)

The peloton on cruise control
(Image © Reuters)

The sprint!!!
(Image © Reuters)

Bastille Day Stage Winner Sergio Paulinho
(Image © Reuters)


Bastille Day is a National holiday in France .  History lessons tell us that Kings and Queens often used the Bastille (a prison in Paris) to lock up the dissidents.  To the people of France the Bastille was a symbol of all the bad things done by their Kings and Queens.  On July 14, 1789, a large force of French citizens stormed the Bastille and claimed independence for the people.  Today, July 14th symbolizes the end of Monarchial rule in France .  It is an Independence Day and the beginning of a new form of government.

Almost every year the Tour de France organizers schedule a stage on Bastille Day.  For a Frenchman to win that stage is very prestigious.  The following is a list of Bastille Day stage winners.

Laurent Jalabert a Bastille Day winner in 1995 and 2001

Return to Picture Recap ToC >>> Previous Stage >>> Next Stage >>>


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2005-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us





Tour de France 2010