___Race Snippets


71st Milan-San Remo 1980 (Italy)

By Barry Boyce CyclingRevealed Historian

Pierino Gavazzi

The 1980 Milan-San Remo took a photo finish to indicate the winner. Pierino Gavazzi's bike throw at the line held off 2nd place Guiseppe Saronni, Jan Raas (far left in the WCRR jersey), Sean Kelly, Roger de Vlaeminck, and Francesco Moser.

*Race profile courtesy of Internet site: www.econ-outlook.com.au/tom/cycling/palmares.html


M-SR March 19, 1980
288 Km

1. Pierino GAVAZZI (Ita) 6h42'07"

2. Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)

3. Jan Raas (Ned)

Starters: 228

Finishers: 139

Average Speed: 42.972 km/h

M-SR 1979

M-SR 1981

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2007-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us-