___Race Snippets


78th Liege-Bastogne-Liege 1992 (Belgium)

By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian

La Doyenne Turns 100

In the 100 year history of Liege-Bastogne-Liege minor course changes have been common place.  In 1992 two changes are worth note.  The re-introduction of the famed Cote du Stockeu (home of the Merckx monument) and the more significant finish line change to hilltop suburb of Ans. 

Belgian Dirk De Wolf attacked and won the 1992 L-B-L by 30 seconds.

L-B-L April 19, 1992
262 Km

1. Dirk DE WOLF (Bel) 7h18'06"

2. Steven Rooks (Hol) +30"

3. Jean-Francois Bernard (Fra)

Starters: 195
Finishers: 77
Average Speed: 35.882 km/h


Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2010
unless otherwise noted

Advertising Information | Contact Us

“Age and treachery will overcome youth and skill.”
Fausto Coppi, Italian
"Champion of Champions"