___Race Snippets


43rd Ronde van Vlaanderen 1959 / Tour of Flanders (Belgium)


By Barry Boyce, CyclingRevealed Historian





'King of the Classics' Wins His 1st Ronde

Belgian superstar Rik Van Looy would be the first rider to win ALL of cycling's 5 Monuments. He started with the victory at the 1958 Milan-San Remo, a very fit Van Looy added his first Ronde van Vlaanderen victory in 1959.

Van Looy attacked to win the lucrative prize at the top of the Muur de Grammont. After a small regrouping on the descent Van Looy controlled the breakaway and sprinted to the victory in Wetteren.

SPECIAL NOTE: Great Flandrian hero Albriek 'Briek' Schotte race his 20th consecutive Tour of Flanders (1940-1959). He reached the podium 8 times (1st twice, 2nd twice and 3rd four times).

Flanders March 30, 1959
242 Km, Gent to Wetteren

1. Rik VAN LOOY (Bel) 6h14'00"

2. Frans Schoubben (Bel) +2"

3. Gilbert Desmet 1 (Bel) +10"

Starters: 143
Finishers: 58
Average Speed: 36.820 km/h

RVV 1958

RVV 1960

Return to the Timeline ToC

Return to the Race Snippets ToC


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2010-2018
unless otherwise noted

Home | Contact Us-